How Sweet It Is!

 

Lover of chocolate? Tooth so sweet it hurts?

That’s me!

When I was a little girl I remember sneaking into the pantry to enjoy the Joe Lois and Brownies hoping my mom would not notice. To this day that love for all things chocolate is just as strong.

I have tried to stay away and say NO to all things sweet but deprivation leads me straight to Binge City, a place I’d rather not visit. So how can you enjoy chocolate AND be healthy and fit?

Try these NINJA tricks to keep chocolate in your life so that you never feel deprived.

  1. Eat the FAUX, not the DOUGH!

Wouldn’t you love to have chocolate chip cookie dough EVERY day for breakfast? I DO.  Two words, Overnight Oats. Tastes like dough, packed with protein and keeps you full and even a little peanut butter for all us nut freaks. This Chocolate Peanut Butter Cold Oats is my secret weapon: 1/2 cup of quick oats, 3/4 cup Greek Yogurt, 1 Banana, 1 tsp Peanut Butter (natural), 1/2 a scoop of your favorite chocolate protein powder and you’ve got yourself a batch of FAUX DOUGH! No guilt, only pleasure.

2. Out Smart your CRAVINGS!

This DOUBLE dose of chocolate will satisfy you before those cravings even hit. First the Faux Dough and then chase it with a Chocolate Smoothie (which also happens to be my ninja trick for getting more veggies in). It’s simple, it’s filling and by the time I am done I’ve just about had my fill of chocolate . My go to recipe is 1/2 to 1 scoop of your favorite chocolate protein powder, 1/2 cup of cottage cheese for the cream factor and 2 cups of spinach with 1 cup of water and ice. Get those cravings before they even hit.

3. The REAL stuff.

Dark, delicious chocolate and I eat it every day. I am all about balance and I apply the 80/20 rule to my daily eating, if I hit all of my daily macronutrients (fat/protein/carbs) then I allow myself to finish that 20% of calories with something chocolatey and sweet. This ninja trick may take a bit of time to master as it takes  self control but allowing yourself 1 TBSP of dark chocolate chips (my go to source of the real stuff) can keep you from overindulging on chocolate bars later. I put dark chocolate chips in pancakes, mix them with fibre 1 and peanut butter (another FAUX DOUGH), make a mug cake or just toss them in my mouth. Allowing myself the REAL DEAL is one of the biggest ninja tricks to keep me from travelling to Binge City.

4. Plan A Chocolate Vacation.

Sometimes a TBSP of dark chocolate chips just won’t cut it. You are not a robot, you CAN be fit and eat cake, or have a dessert on your anniversary, or partake in some holiday treats. Plan it. Eat it. Enjoy it. Eating chocolate in moderation can be beneficial PROVIDING you don’t spend days OVERindulging. So make your plan, stick to it and then get back to your daily grind.

5. The Day I Ate ALL THE FOOD 

Let’s be real, you’re not going to be perfect all the time. You may have all your ducks in a row when it comes to healthy eating and then some days your ducks end up in different rivers, even different lakes. You don’t plan for it, you just find yourself standing in front of your cupboard with a Joe Lois shoved in your face before you even had a minute to THINK about what you’re doing. Remember, this IS life, stuff DOES happen and sometimes you WILL eat all the food. My final ninja trick is to NEVER hang on to the guilt. Feel it if you want to, let it all soak in and then hop out of that feeling so fast you forget it even happened. Dwelling on it will get you nowhere, over thinking it leads you further into the guilt and possibly into a binge, so feel it and dust it off. God gives us a brand new day EVERY day so use that as motivation, put a smile on your face and get ready to start fresh.

 

You can have your cake and eat it too, trick your mind into thinking you’re indulging, attack your craving before it even hits, eat the real stuff in moderation, enjoy a dessert here and there and be kind to yourself if you go off track. You don’t have to say NO all together. You just have to find your right balance.

Leave a Reply

